British Youth Championship Rounds 2 & 3

The 2022 British Youth Championship Series gets underway in earnest this weekend with back-to-back full rounds at Edinburgh this afternoon (Saturday tapes up 2.30pm) and Glasgow tomorrow (Sunday, Tapes up 2pm)

With the 500 and 250 class getting the series underway at Kent two weeks ago, this weekend is the start of the youth series that everyone involved in has been looking forward too with 30 qualifying races and 30 riders taking part at each venue.

The 500cc class looks an impressive line up with 8 quality riders taking part which includes National League riders Sam McGurk who currently leads the series after winning round 1, Ace Pijper, Freddy Hodder and current British Youth 500cc champion Ben Trigger.

The 250cc class is equally impressive quality with the two times British 250cc champion Luke Harrison already leading this year along with Sonny Springer and William Cairns currently the top 3 in this year’s championship after round one.

It is the first showing of the 125cc and support classes in this season Championship with the 125cc class looking a particular hard class to call with the likes of Stene Pijper, Oliver Bovingdon Archie Rolph and Seth Norman chasing Cooper Rushen for his British Championship trophy plus local favourite Caydin Martin and new boy Oliver Binns.

The support class has the biggest numbers with 9 riders in this class with plenty of local interest of riders from the Edinburgh academy making their debuts in this series Lewis Hague, Rocco Webb and Zaak Gallacher.

Supporters can pay at the turnstiles and come along and watch the stars of the future, remember it was only a couple of years ago that the likes of Tom Brennan, Drew Kemp and Jordan Palin to name just a few were competing in this series, and only last weekend those same riders were representing Team GB in the FIM European Under 23 Team qualifier in the Czech Republic.

The Young Lions Management would like to thank both the Edinburgh and Glasgow promotions for their continued support of British Youth speedway along with their series sponsors Nuneaton Speedway Supporters Club, Wessex Marine, Friends of Speedway, Rentruck, Foxbury Motors, RMCS Racing, ATPI, Abrams Insurance Services, Northern Scaffolding Solutions, Royle T Racing and the BSP Ltd Members.

For information regarding the Edinburgh Monarchs, click here.

For information regarding the Glasgow Tigers, click here.

Image Credit: Odd Shots Photography