All about Speedway

500cc bikes, no brakes

In simple terms, speedway consists of four riders who keep turning left over four laps of an oval track, with each race lasting less than one minute.

The bikes are powered by 125, 150, 250 or 500cc single cylinder engines, are usually fuelled by methanol or petrol, have just one fixed gear, a clutch, little suspension and no breaks!

Speedway tracks vary across the country, but are all oval and covered with shale, a surface which allows riders to slide around the corners in spectacular fashion.

Action from the National Speedway Stadium – Belle Vue v Somerset

British Speedway League racing

British Speedway consists of three leagues, the Premiership, The Championship and the National Development League. Each team consists of seven riders, with 15 races taking place in each meeting. Each race consists of four riders (two from the home team and two from the away team).

Points are awarded based on the finishing position (3 points for a win, two points for second place and one point for third place) with the cumulative total over the 15 heats determining the winning team.

Click on the image below to visit the Speedway GB website