News > British Youth Championship Round 1 (Redcar) Results and Report

British Youth Championship Round 1 (Redcar) Results and Report

14th May 2018

The first round of the 2018 British Youth Championship held at Redcar on Saturday was dominated by one rider in three of the four classes, with Leon Flint 500, Archie Freeman 150 and Sam McGurk 125 all winning their four qualifying heats and also their finals. In the 250 class although only three riders, completed this was the most open class with Nathan Ablitt, Jordan Palin and Jacob Clayton all looking as if they could win their final.

With a glorious sunny day at the North East venue, there was some fantastic racing across all four classes, and although there was a couple of riders that slid off, there was no major crashes and all 32 riders had a great day in front of a decent size attendance.

National League Rider Leon Flint was untroubled in winning Round one although there was a race for the remaining three places in the final and then a great final race for the Rostrum places.

Joe Thompson making his 500cc debut did just enough to hold off the impressive Chad Wirtzfeld who won two qualifying heats on his way to the final to claim the Runners Up spot with Wirtzfeld third and Buxton Rider Corban Pavitt just missing out on a rostrum position.

After having bike problems in the last qualifying heat Nathan Ablitt jumped on his second bike to win the 250 final, closely followed by Palin and Clayton.

Both support classes of the 150s and 125s had good numbers and all races were entertaining.
Freeman claimed top prize in the 150s with Gregor Millar and Jack Bell completing the Rostrum places.

Sam McGurk maxed out In the 125s with Luke Harrison and local boy Elliot Kelly making the top three.


British Championship Points


Leon Flint 18 points
Joe Thompson 16
Chad Wirtzfeld 14
Corban Pavitt 12
Harry McGurk 11
Dan Thompson 10


Nathan Ablitt 18 points
Jordan Palin 16
Jacob Clayton 14

Support Classes


Archie Freeman 12 + 3
Gregor Millar 6 + 2
Jack Bell        10 + 1
Archie Wareham  8 + 0
Freddie Fox Baron 6
William Cairns      6
Danny Smith        5
Callum Gill           4
Taya Thirtle          2
Charlie Wood     1


Sam McGurk 12 + 3
Luke Harrison 9 + 2
Elliot Kelly      11 + 1
Alex Goldsborough 10 + 0
Ben Trigger    8
Vinnie Foord 6
Kyran Lyden   5
Max Perry      5
Ace Pijper      4
Finley Dimmock 3
Maddy Fellows  3
Caydin Martin  1
Stene Pijper       0

Sponsor Wall