Fixtures > Mitas British Youth Championship Round 8

Mitas British Youth Championship Round 8

27th August 2016 - 2pm



It was the turn of the North East to host the eight and final round of this season’s Mitas British Youth Championship as the series ended at the home of the Redcar Bears.

With both British titles being clinched at Round 7 the weekend before where Kyle Bickley won the 500cc class and Leon Flint won the 250cc, all eyes were on the 150cc class to see if Nathan Ablitt would be able to go the whole eight round series unbeaten.

It was a tough afternoon for the hard working Redcar track staff, as having their Premier League fixture rained off 48 hours before, they worked hard to get the track ready for the Youth Championship round, and what a great job they did.

Even though there was a lot of dust, due to it being a sunny afternoon and very windy , this did not stop the racing from being top class.

Nathan Ablitt although being under pressure from claiming what would be a new record for the series with his unbeaten record being under threat, did not disappoint and for the 8th consecutive Youth Round won all his five races, and surely clinched a record that will be nigh on impossible to match in years to come.

The 500cc class was very competitive right from the off with 10 riders competing , it should have been 11 but Sam Bebee had to withdraw with injuries he suffered at Coventry 24 hours before.

The class was dominated by the soon to be newly crowned British Champion Kyle  Bickley and the stylish Jordan Jenkins who did not meet in the qualifying heats, so both riders ended up with a maximum score of 12 points.

Tom Brennan endured a tough afternoon, but pulled it out of the bag when he needed too and did just enough to amass enough points to qualify for his 8th consecutive final.

The final spot went to Kean Dicken, and anyone that has witnessed any of the rounds this season, would have been pleased to have seen the likeable Humberside lad make a final, as he has worked hard all year, but has not had his just rewards.

Jenkins finished the year on the top of the rostrum and would probably be kicking himself that the series has now come to an end, as he is in great form, having won two of the last three rounds.

Brennan did well to pass Bickley and get the runners up trophy with Bickley in third, and Dicken was just pleased he made a final.

There was only four riders competing in the 250cc, but that did not distract from the quality of racing , as the series top 3 Flint, Jason Edwards and Drew Kemp were all over each other not only in the heats but also the final.

In the final even though Edwards never let Flint switch off for one moment, Flint just had enough speed to clinch the win, with both Edwards and Kemp just a fraction behind.

With Ablitt clinching the 150s, Mason O’Rourke ended the series with his 3rd top three finish, and the hard chasing Josh Parnell made his first rostrum place with a third place finish.

The 125cc class was similar to the 500s, with the top four qualification riders not being decided until right up until the 15th and last qualifying race.

British Champion Dan Thompson dominated this class with a unbeaten performance of four race wins, with his twin Joe just one point behind on 11.

Behind the Thompson’s, it was real nip and tuck for the last two remaining spots with five riders chasing the two remaining places.

Harry McGurk can feel disappointed, as working really hard to win two races, and looked as if he meant business, was leading his fourth ride but unfortunately slid off, which meant now he had to wait on other results to see if his 6 point tally would be enough to scrape in to the final.

Harry’s younger brother Sam also was cursing a fall in one of his heats, as again his 7 point score would be just one point short of the qualifying cut off point.

The youngest rider in the field Luke Harrison who is only 9, won two of his races, but again just missed out on a place in the final.

Joining the two Thompson’s in the final would be Mickie Simpson, who started the day with some machine problems of his own, and actually ended up riding one of the Thompson bikes in his first two races, and Jordan Palin who managed to pull off a win in his final heat which would prove to be just enough to squeeze in to the final.

After Dan had beaten Joe in the heats, the final was the turn of Joe to take the victory , with Simpson clinching the last rostrum place ahead of Palin.

This was yet another great event, GB Youth boss Neil Vatcher showed his appreciation not only to all the riders who have made this a great series, but also to all the Mums and Dads who without them none of this would be possible.

The quality of the racing this year across all four classes has been second to none, and the future of British speedway certainly seams to have a bright future.

Thankyou to our partners

  • Nuneaton Speedway Supporters Club
  • Friends Of Speedway
  • Wessex Marine
  • Trend Creative
  • Kandysoft
  • Meridian Lifts
  • Rentruck
  • ASR
  • Gordon Pairman
  • Complete Filtration Solutions
  • Koz Classics
  • SFS Electrical
  • Drains First